October 5, 2009

 Hello,

 I greet you once again in the Name of Jesus!

 Last time we shared with you concerning the buzz and the interest centered on the date December 21, 2012. This is the date pin-pointed by both the Mayan calendar and the ancient Chinese I’Ching as the date that great cataclysmic occurrences and changes are to strike planet earth due to the rare alignment of the sun, moon, and other planets causing a pole shift on earth that could completely change the climate over the face of the entire earth overnight. The ancient prognosticators saw great meteors, strong earthquakes, huge tsunamis, and weather anomalies all occurring as a result of the cataclysmic changes and occurrences associated with this date.

 New Age groups also speak of great changes coming. In fact, the New Age movement is expecting a “catching away.”  What they are expecting is quite the opposite of the event portrayed in God’s Word. [See 1 Thess. 4:13 – 18] Their view of what Evangelical Christians commonly refer to as the rapture is summed up probably best in the words of New Age guru David Spangler. He writes, “those attuned to the old world” will be “transported through the [cosmic] law of attraction” to “another planet, plane of existence or level of earth’s consciousness where they can be contained… the main point is that they will lose, for the time being, their access to the etheric planes of power and the ability to control or influence the developments upon earth.” (Revelation, Birth of a New Age, pp.163-4)  It is interesting to me that these people believe in the “catching away”, albeit a twisted version, while many Christians and Christian ministers no longer believe in nor preach this event.

 It is time for God’s people to awake from spiritual sleep and apathy and realize that life as we know it will not continue forever. As I write this, just this morning the Holy Spirit gave me a powerful illustration of this truth. I had to set my alarm due to a training I had to attend one hour earlier than I normally set it. The alarm went off and I reset it and went back to bed. I did, I am a little embarrassed to admit, repeat this until the very last minute that I could rise, get ready, and then leave the house. As I finally got up to stay, I groggily made my way to the clock to turn it off and heard the voice of the Holy Spirit say, “It is high time for my people to get up! There is no more time for sleeping, it is time to arise!” I believe this a word from the Lord. I pray it is received.

 I want to make it very clear that I do not put my faith in the Mayan calendar, the Chinese I’Ching, the predictions of Nostradamus, or any other source that seems to be catching the world’s attention these days. I mention these sources to illustrate that even the world, even non-Christian people, are awakening to the fact that great changes are coming. Extremely dark days are ahead. Paul writing to Pastor Timothy warned, This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. [2 Tim. 3:1 KJV] I want to point out a couple of salient words in this passage. First, know is from ginosko, which is a prolonged form of a primary verb meaning “to know, perceive, or to be aware.” Secondly, the word perilous from the Greek word chalepos, meaning “reducing the strength, difficult, dangerous, or by implication, furious.”

 The Holy Spirit would have us know that these dangerous days will come, or literally are at hand. In view of this, as I shared last time, I believe there are some things we should take heed to. As we said last time it is time to get your house in order. Be wise and take precautions in view of the dangerous days ahead. Without giving place to the spirit of fear I believe wisdom and prudence would dictate that we should lay up some bottled water, non-perishable food, water filtration bottles, and other survival items as well as some cash on hand. Again, this is not fear mongering but wisdom. Second,

 We stated that we need to discern the prophetic season and understand prophetic time. Jesus made it clear that “No man knows the day or the hour.” [See Matt. 24:36] However, earlier in that same chapter He clearly implied that we could and I believe should, know the prophetic season. [See Vs. 32] With respect to the prophetic season Jesus said that His people should look at the fig tree. The fig tree in prophetic imagery speaks of the State of Israel. As we look at how Israel and the Jewish people have come back into the land and have again become a people after being scattered to the nations of the world for over 2,000 years, we can see it is truly a miracle that they exist today. The fig tree is budding and blossoming once again. Jesus also said, And he spake to them a parable; Behold the fig tree, and all the trees; When they now shoot forth, ye see and know of your own selves that summer is now nigh at hand. [Luke 21:29, 30 KJV]

 If Israel is the fig tree, then “all the trees” would refer to the other Nations of prophecy. Who are the Nations of prophecy? I submit to you they would include, Russia (Ezek. 38, 39); China and the Orient (Rev. 16:12); Syria (Isa. 17:1); Iran and others (Ezek. 38); Turkey (Ezek. 38:6); Egypt; Saudi Arabia, England, and others (Ezek. 38:13); Iraq (Rev. 18:2 – 6); and of course, Israel. (Zech. 12:1, 2) When we see the nations of prophecy lining up and forming alliances against Israel, we know that the prophetic hour is late. I believe there can be little doubt that we are in the season of the dispensation of the fullness of time that will see the fulfillment of all the prophets declared. There is a call to discernment of the times in this hour.

 I believe it is also important to understand what I am referring to as prophetic time. What is prophetic time?  There is,

 

  • Linear or chronological time – This is the simple passage of time. It has a beginning, and is generally understood at some point to have an end.
  • Vertical Time – This is time with regard to our relationship with God. It is in stages. For example, faith, exceedingly growing faith, and so great faith.
  • Prophetic time – This form of time is cyclical in nature. It is illustrated in Ecclesiastes 1:9, The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun. [Eccl. 1:9 KJV] In other words, God’s time is revealed in cycles and patterns that repeat at other times. This is a fascinating study. I want to share with you some prophetic cycles and patterns that we see in history.

 Join us for this next time.

 The Weekly Word is found in Isaiah 46:10. Here the Bible says,

 Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure. [Isa. 46:10 KJV]

 Until next time, this is THE WEEKLY WORD.

 Pastor Kevin E. Johnson

